Wheat-Free Peanut Butter Granola Bars

This summer, I paid a visit to the Bob’s fabled Red Mill (highly recommended). Stay with me, a recipe is coming….

As you may see just above , there’s an eating area in one corner of the store, which is also a kitchen/casual cafe serving healthful breakfasts and lunches. Whole wheat breads and buns galore:

Veggie sandwich, pea soup, carrots, multigrain chips, pickle.

Lean corned beef sandwich with multigrain chips, carrots, pickle.

There is also a bakery in the other corner, offering a variety of tempting, natural items. I picked one up: a “Wheat-Free Peanut Butter Granola Bar.” It was a huge square — honey-licious and filled with peanut-buttery-raisin goodness — so ginormous and decadent, I ate it for dinner on the train ride home. No regrets here.

When I got home, I had to find the recipe… and Bob’s Red Mill delivered.

I have made these bars at least three times since, and, each time, I cut the excessive sweetness a little more. Guess what: it doesn’t change a damn thing about how stellar they taste.

I also cut them into three different sizes for unpredictable snacking needs. Did I mention they’re no-bake?

With my adjustments, the full square contains 266 kcal, the halves 133, and the little ‘bites’ 67 — great stats for something so dense and satisfying. I believe the original was in the 400s.

Obligatory extreme close-up. Praise natural light.

These have an extremely chewy, sink-your-teeth-into-it texture.

I gather you want the recipe by now. I used all organic ingredients.

Wheat-Free Peanut Butter Granola Bars

  • c. old-fashioned rolled oats*
  • c. crispy brown rice cereal (i.e. Barbara’s Bakery)
  • ¼ c. raw honey** (i.e. Wholesome Sweeteners)
  • ¼ c. barley malt syrup*
  • ¾ c. raisins
  • 1 t pure vanilla extract
  • ¾ c. + 2 T natural smooth peanut butter (preferably after being stirred and before refrigeration for easy pour-ability)
  • c. sunflower seeds
  • 1 t whole raw cane sugar (i.e. Rapunzel; mostly as a binder)
  • *For gluten-free, use certified GF ingredients, including oats, and swap barley malt for brown rice syrup. **To make vegan, omit honey and instead use more syrup, but know that the honey flavor practically makes this.

    Combine dry ingredients in a bowl and add in wet; mush/mash (scientific directions) all together until completely incorporated combined. (I used jumbo raisins that I “ripped up” for ease of congealability (appetizing!)… and more raisins throughout.)

    In an 8×6 dish (i.e. Pyrex glass, below), press down ‘batter’ firmly until all is even. May be knife-sliced immediately to your liking and devoured. Refrigerate and enjoy! Makes a great lunchbox snack. Leftovers may also be frozen.

    Nutrition facts per whole square (big — the largest cut pictured above): 11.33g fat, 2.08 saturated, 61.25g sodium, 34.58g carbohydrate, 3.33g fiber, 17.62g sugar, 7.37g protein. Low sodium, high fiber, high protein. It may not look it, but one whole bar is quite heavy.  Halve these numbers, depending on how/if you divide.

    Feel free to get creative. You can’t mess this up. I’ve switched amounts/types of seeds and have also tried chia for some omega-3s; next I plan to try an almond butter version. Feel free to also take a look at the original Bob’s Red Mill recipe, off of which this was based.

    12 responses to “Wheat-Free Peanut Butter Granola Bars

    1. These squares look great. And I’m jealous that you got to visit Bob. I love their products!

    2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Wheat-Free Peanut Butter Granola Bars | Mastering Public Health -- Topsy.com

    3. Looks delish!! I would love to get in contact with you about guest posting possibly on my blog! These look so easy!!

    4. Yum – thanks for sharing this recipe, and I love that they’re a no bake recipe.

      I’m going to add this to my Weekend Reading list that comes out on Friday. Thanks for sharing!

    5. Pingback: Weekend Reading Material: Week of October 11 « Lisa's Foods on the Move

    6. THESE ARE INSANE!! wow ur a genius! saving this recipe and the AMAZING espresso bars in the last post!! thank your for doubling the deliciousness <3

    7. I’m an MPH student too! I’m glad I found your blog. The granola bars look amazing, might just have to try those. :)

    8. OMG, a Bob’s Red Mill store?? That is TOO cool! I’d love to visit it. :D Where is that at?

    9. Hey all, thanks for the great feedback! It is so appreciated.
      The Bob’s Red Mill store/bakery/cafe is located in Milwaukie, OR, right near Portland. It is gorgeous, clean, health-minded, and an awesome place to spend a few bucks. They advertised mill tours as well, but we didn’t have enough time. I’d return in a heartbeat! Highly recommended. The locals thought our excitement/picture-taking was a hoot. Needless to say, they need a sister branch on the east coast badly! If you go, be sure to post. :)
      PS – We actually saw Bob himself pull up to a reserved spot in his Cadillac and got a picture of him walking in with his wife — red sweater, paperboy cap and all.

      Bob’s Red Mill Whole Grain Store
      5000 SE International Way
      Milwaukie, Oregon 97222

    10. Pingback: Mastering Public Health: 2010 in Review | Mastering Public Health

    11. These look amazing!!! And I would go crazy in that store!! I think I could spend an entire day there :) I must try these bars – they are right up my alley :)

    12. fhhzwnevlmc hlslxgux shomqrb qhkzfrifdx

    Leave a Reply

    